On Leaving and Staying

I have at least one friend who asks me about my plans and for the reasons behind them. Last night, he asked me why I was considering church membership but wasn’t sure yet. I told him I didn’t know what my regular schedule would be yet. There’s this other thing that’s been holding me back — fear of doing something stupid in the future that would earn disciplinary action again. But the proper prevention is actually accountability. I feel like I’m going in circles. Anyway, I chose the lesser-paying job opportunity so that I could do what I love, stay in the same city, and give church membership a shot. I’m just waiting for the contract, but it wouldn’t hurt to start taking steps in the right direction. Okay, I take that back. Obedience hurts a lot right now, but I would like to choose His joy over my happiness any day.

Leave a Reply

