Dark Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

I made my first attempt at baking chocolate chip cookies today. I adapted the recipe from http://www.yummy.ph/recipe/oatmeal-white-chocolate-cookies-with-sea-salt with some modifications.

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon fine salt
1 cup old-fashioned oats
3/4 cup white dark chocolate chips or chunks
1/2 to 1 teaspoon flaky sea rock salt
(Maldon, fleur de sel, or any coarse sea salt or kosher salt)

1 Preheat oven to 350ºF.
2 Using an electric mixer, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy.
3 Beat in egg and vanilla.
4 Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and finerock salt. Gradually add to creamed mixture. Don’t overmix.
5 Stir in oats and white chocolate just until combined.
6 On ungreased cookie sheets, drop rounded tablespoonfuls of dough about 2 inches apart.
7 Sprinkle each with coarse sea salt cheese.
8 Bake for 11 to 13 minutes, or just until bottoms are golden brown.

Since I was baking on a budget, I used Goya dark chocolate because I remembered the ex’s comment that Goya makes tropical chocolates, which means they’re even less “melty” than m&m’s. I insisted on getting chocolate bars (which I grated) because the available chocolate chips were milk chocolate instead of dark. I also substituted margarine for butter. The brand said Baker’s Best so I gave it a go. Last Christmas, I sprinkled parmesan cheese on the cookies I received, but due to budget constraints, I used cheddar instead. Unfortunately, I burned the bottom of the cookies. The rest were soft and chewy though, so I guess I got the batter right. I’ll try again soon.

Leave a Reply

