How to Test on an Android Device

I started learning to write Android applications this year. I tweaked an existing app for an Android device for my previous project.
I used

adb connect

to connect to the device through LAN.

This prototype we’re working on requires me to connect to an Android device via USB. I was puzzled why it wasn’t appearing when I typed

adb devices

I did a little research and figured out the solution. I decided to write down what I did in case I run into the problem again in the future.

1. Run the Android SDK Manager.
2. Install the Google USB Driver under Extras.
3. Connect the Android device via USB.
4. Install the driver by selecting the location of the USB driver folder (\extras\google\usb_driver\).

All done.

See http://developer.android.com/tools/extras/oem-usb.html for more details.

Leave a Reply

