When Love Takes You In

by Steven Curtis Chapman

I know you’ve heard the stories
But they all sound too good to be true
You’ve heard about a place called home
But there doesn’t seem to be one for you
So one more night you cry yourself to sleep
And drift off to a distant dream

Where love takes you in and everything changes
A miracle starts with the beat of a heart
When love takes you home and says you belong here
The loneliness ends and a new life begins
When love takes you in

And somewhere while you’re sleeping
Someone else is dreaming too
Counting down the days until
They hold you close and say I love you
And like the rain that falls into the sea
In a moment what has been is lost in what will be

When love takes you in everything changes
A miracle starts with the beat of a heart

And this love will never let you go
There is nothing that could ever
cause this love to lose its hold

When love takes you in everything changes
A miracle starts with the beat of a heart
When love takes you home and says you belong here
The loneliness ends and a new life begins
When love takes you in it takes you in for good
When love takes you in

I first heard this song when my mentor sang it for me during my 17th
birthday celebration with the kalcf and kalbrig then. It really pierced
me because it somewhat sounded like my story.

I was broken-hearted when I entered the university. I was far away
from home but I felt like I didn’t have one. I had no one to turn to so
I returned to God. I brought the broken pieces of my life to Him for
repair. He taught me the futility of trying to fill the void in my
heart with something or someone other than Him. Words aren’t enough to
express the love and hope I found in Christ.

I listened to the song when I felt unlovely. It helped me to not
lose hope that someday someone would love me. Little did I know that
the song is about Steven Curtis Chapman’s adoption of their daughter,
Shaohannah. Learning this piece of information reminded me that upon
receiving Christ as my Lord and Savior, I was given the right to become
a child of God. That also means all the other believers are my family.
Serving them has been a blessing. Soon, I shall be leaving the
Dormitories Christian Fellowship, looking forward to the day we’ll be
reunited for eternity.

 

***written for you and for Dormwatch

Leave a Reply

